Aurora 2001-2003



The engines are equipped with a Distributorless Ignition System (DIS). The system consists of 2 Crankshaft Position (CKP) sensors, crankshaft reluctor ring, Camshaft Position (CMP) sensor, Ignition Control Module (ICM), 4 ignition coils, spark plug wires and spark plugs, Knock Sensor (KS) and the Powertrain Control Module (PCM).

The PCM controls spark advance under all driving conditions. The PCM incorporates a permanent spark control override, which electronically lowers the base timing if spark knock (detonation) is encountered during normal operation due to the use of low octane fuel.