Chrysler Front Wheel Drive Cars 4-CYL 1981-1995 Repair Information



The Chrysler, as well as the Eagle, Dodge and Plymouth, front-wheel drive cars equipped with 4-cylinder engines are grouped according to their body designations. The body models from the Chrysler cars are denoted by a letter. There are 10 letter designated body styles. Since it is often the case that Chrysler, Dodge, Plymouth and Eagle share general car designs, the cars fall into categories together with often only very slight differences between them. The body style can be ascertained from the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) plate located on the upper edge of the left-hand side of the dashboard (by the windshield). The 5th position (a letter) will read as following (with the exclusion of 1989-95 models):

1981 Vehicles:

K-Aries and Reliant models (AK body designation)

1982-83 Vehicles:

C-LeBaron (AK body)
D-Aries (AK body)
E-600 (AE or AK body)
P-Reliant (AK body)
T-New Yorker (AE body)
V-400 (AK body)

1984-88 Vehicles:

J-Caravelle (AE body)
E-600 and 600ES (AE body)
T-New Yorker and E Class (AE body)
P-Reliant (AK body)
D-Aries (AK body); Shadow (AP body); Lancer (AH body)
L-Caravelle (AK body)
V-600 (AK body); Daytona (AG body)
C-LeBaron, Town & Country and Executive Sedan (AK body); Laser (AG body)
P-Sundance (AP body)

The vehicles from 1989-95 use their body designation letter as the VIN code. Therefore, a Daytona, which is an AG body, would have the VIN code of G, just as a Sundance model (AP body) has teh VIN designation of P.

The AA class (all Chrysler vehicle model designations are preceded by the letter A, therefore, for example, the J class vehicles are actually AJ class vehicles) body designation cars are the 1989-95 Chrysler LeBaron, Dodge Spirit and Plymouth Acclaim. The A bodies are 4-door sedans. The LeBaron was also available as a 2-door coupe or convertible, however these models of the 2-door LeBaron are classified in a different model category (AJ). The Spirit and the Acclaim were available with 4-cylinder engines from 1989-95. The 4-door LeBaron was equipped with the 2.5L 4-cylinder engine from 1992-93.

The AB style body is the 1988-89 Eagle Premier, which is a 4-door sedan. The Premier came equipped with a 2.5L 4-cylinder, however this 2.5L engine is unlike all of the other 2.5L engines in this information. Whereas all of the other 2.5L engines are manufactured by Chrysler, the Premier 2.5L engine was manufactured by Jeep and is the same 2.5L as is found in Jeep vehicles.

The AC class body is the 1988-93 Dodge Dynasty 4-door Sedan. The Dynasty came equipped with the 2.5L engine.

The AE class vehicles are the 1983-88 Caravelle, the Caravelle SE, the 600, the 600 SE and the New Yorker. The 1983-84 E-Class is also included in the AE class vehicles. All of these vehicles are 4-door sedans. These vehicles came equipped with all three available 4-cylinder engines: the 2.2L, the 2.5L and the 2.6L.

AG class automobiles, namely the 1984-93 Daytona and 1984-86 Laser models, came as 2-door hatchbacks. Both cars were equipped with all three 4-cylinder engines.

The 4-door hatchback versions of the LeBaron GTS and of the Lancer models are designated as the AH body class vehicles. The AH vehicles were also equipped with all three 4-cylinder engines.

The 1987-93 LeBaron 2-door coupe and convertible is classified as a AJ type body. The 2-door LeBaron was equipped with the 2.2L or the 2.5L engines.

One of the largest class designated groups is the AK body class group. All three 4-cylinder engines were available in these vehicles. The AK group includes the following vehicles:

1981-89 Aries and Reliant-2-door coupe
1981-89 Aries and Reliant-4-door sedan
1981-89 Aries and Reliant-4-door hatchback
1983-85 Caravelle-Canadian 2-door Special Hardtop model
1982-86 600 and LeBaron-2-door convertible
1982-86 600 and LeBaron-2-door Special Hardtop model
1982-85 600 and LeBaron-4-door sedan
1987-88 LeBaron-4-door sedan
1982-88 Town & Country-4-door wagon
Executive and Limousine-4-door sedan

The Dodge Shadow and the Plymouth Sundance came from the factory as either 2-door or 4-door hatchbacks. These vehicles came equipped with 4-cylinder engines from 1987-95 and were classified as AP class body styles.

The last letter-designated category of body styles is the AQ class body. Chrysler's TC was manufactured by Maserati, but utilized the same 2.2L engine as the other Chrysler vehicles. This vehicle was available with the 4-cylinder engine for only two years from 1989 to 1990.